Team

Soil Ecology Research Group Team 

Below is a list of researchers from all soil related disciplines. Please contact us at sergsouthafrica@gmail.com if you want to be added to the team page.

 


Fungi


Prof. Joanna Dames

Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, Mycorrhizal Research Laboratory
Rhodes University, South Africa.

Email: j.dames@ru.ac.za

Website – http://www.ru.ac.za/bm/people/academicstaff/dames/

 


Dr. Adriaana (Riana) Jacobs

Biosystematics Division
ARC-Plant Protection Research Institute, Queenswood, South Africa.

Email: JacobsR@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/ARC-PPRI-Homepage.aspx

 


Dr. Mariette Truter

Crop Protection Division
Agricultural Research Council-Vegetable and Ornamental Plants, Pretoria, South Africa.

Email: TruterM@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-vopi/Pages/ARC-VOPI-Homepage.aspx
Twitter – @MarietteTruter

 


 

Nematoda


Prof. Driekie Fourie

Unit of Environmental Sciences and Management
North-West University (NWU), Potchefstroom, South Africa.

Email:  driekie.fourie@nwu.ac.za

Website – http://natural-sciences.nwu.ac.za/zoology/driekie-fourie

 


Dr. Candice Jansen van Rensburg

Department of Zoology and Entomology
University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email: jvrensc@ufs.ac.za

Website – http://www.ufs.ac.za/natagri/departments-and-divisions/zoology-and-entomology-home/general/staff?pid=Ab%2bbfTod7m0%3d


Dr. Antoinette P. Malan

Department of Conservation Ecology and Entomology, Faculty of AgriSciences
Stellenbosch University, South Africa.

Email:  apm@sun.ac.za

Website – http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/agri/departments1/conservation-ecology

 


Dr. Mariette Marais

Nematology Unit, Biosystematics,
ARC- Plant Health and Protection, Roodeplaat, South Africa.

Email: MaraisM@arc.agric.za
Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/ARC-PPRI-Homepage.aspx

 


Dr. Antoinette Swart

Nematology Unit, Biosystematics Division
ARC- Plant Protection Research Institute, Queenswood, South Africa.

Email:  SwartA@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/Biosystematics.aspx

 


 

 

Acari – Mesostigmata


Prof. Eddie Ueckermann

School of Biological Sciences
North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa

Email: edalbert@lantic.net

Website – http://natural-sciences.nwu.ac.za/zoology

 


Prof. Pieter Theron

School of Biological Sciences
North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa

Email: Pieter.Theron@nwu.ac.za

Website – http://natural-sciences.nwu.ac.za/zoology/pieter-theron

 


 

Acari – Oribatida


Dr. Louise Coetzee

Research Associate of the University of the Free State (Zoology and Entomology), Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email:  loucoetzee@gmail.com

 

 


Dr. Elizabeth A. Hugo-Coetzee  (Lizel)

National Museum Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email: Lhugo@nasmus.co.za

Website – http://www.nasmus.co.za/departments/acarology/staff

 


 

Acari – Ixodida


Deon K. Bakkes

Gertrud Theiler Tick Museum – ARC-OVR, Onderstepoort, South Africa

Tick Systematics, Biogeography and Evolution

Email- BakkesD@arc.agric.za

Website: http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ovi/Pages/EPV/Ticks-Biology,-Taxonomy-and-Ecology.aspx

ResearchGate- https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Deon_Bakkes

 

Diplura


Prof. Martin H. Villet

Department of Zoology & Entomology
Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa.

Email: M.Villet@ru.ac.za

Website – http://www.ru.ac.za/zoologyandentomology/people/martinvillet/

 


 

Collembola 


Dr. Charlene Janion-Scheepers

Iziko South African Museum, Cape Town, South Africa

Email:  cjanion@gmail.com

Website – http://collembola.co.za/dr.-charlene-janion-scheepers/

 

 


 

Oligochaeta (earthworms)


Thembeka C. Nxele

KwaZulu-Natal Museum, Pietermaritzburg, 3200, South Africa.

Email: tnxele@nmsa.org.za

Website – http://www.nmsa.org.za/natural-sciences

 


Danuta J Plisko

School of Life Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Scottsville, South Africa
KwaZulu-Natal Museum, Pietermaritzburg, 3200 South Africa

Email: dplisko@nmsa.org.za or danutaplisko@gmail.com

Website – http://www.nmsa.org.za/natural-sciences

 


 

Isopods and amphipods


Prof. Charles Griffiths

Department of Biological Sciences
University of Cape Town, South Africa.

Email:  charles.griffiths@uct.ac.za

Website – http://www.biologicalsciences.uct.ac.za/bio/staff/academic/griffiths

 


Gastropods (terrestrial)


 

Diplopoda


Prof. Michelle Hamer

Biosystematics and Research Collections Division
South African National Biodiversity Institute, Pretoria, South Africa.

Email:  M.Hamer@sanbi.org.za

Website – https://www.sanbi.org/biodiversity-science/foundations-biodiversity/biosystematics-collections

 


 

Arachnida


Spiders


Robin Lyle

Biosystematics Division
ARC- Plant Protection Research Institute, Queenswood , South Africa.

Email:  LyleR@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/ARC-PPRI-Homepage.aspx

 


Dr. Charles R. Haddad

Department of Zoology & Entomology
University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email:  haddadcr@ufs.ac.za

Website – http://www.ufs.ac.za/natagri/departments-and-divisions/zoology-and-entomology-home/general/staff?pid=SrMVX0BHkig%3d

 


Prof. Ansie S. Dippenaar-Schoeman

Biosystematics Division
ARC- Plant Protection Research Institute, Queenswood , South Africa.

Email: DippenaarA@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/ARC-PPRI-Homepage.aspx

 


Stefan Foord

University of Venda, Thohoyandou, South Africa

Email: stefan.foord@univen.ac.za

Website: http://www.univen.ac.za/index.php/school-of-mathematical-and-natural-sciences/zoology/

 

 


 

Opiliones


Dr. Leon N. Lotz

National Museum Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email: arachnol@nasmus.co.za

Website – http://www.nasmus.co.za/departments/arachnology/staff

 


 

Scorpions


Dr. Lorenzo Prendini

Division of Invertebrate Zoology,
American Museum of Natural History, New York, U.S.A.

Email: lorenzo@amnh.org

Website – http://www.amnh.org/our-research/staff-directory/lorenzo-prendini/

Lab Website: scorpion.amnh.org

 


 

Pseudoscorpions


Jan-Andries Neethling

Department of Arachnology
National Museum, Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Email:  ja.neethling@nasmus.co.za

Website – http://www.nasmus.co.za/departments/arachnology/staff

 


 

Blattodea: Termitoidae (termites)


Dr. Vivienne M. Uys

Biosystematics Division
ARC-Plant Protection Research Institute, Pretoria, South Africa.

Email: UysV@arc.agric.za

Website – http://www.arc.agric.za/arc-ppri/Pages/ARC-PPRI-Homepage.aspx

 


Termite ecology


Dr. Andrew B. Davies

Department of Global Ecology
Carnegie Institution for Science, Stanford, USA

Email:  adavies@carnegiescience.edu

Website –https://dge.carnegiescience.edu/labs/asnerlab/Alab_people.html

 


 

Hymenoptera


Dr. Simon van Noort

Iziko South African Museum, Cape Town, South Africa

Email: svannoort@iziko.org.za

Websites –   http://www.figweb.org/Research/Laboratories/van_Noort/index.htm

http://www.researchgate.net/profile/Simon_Noort

http://www.waspweb.org

https://www.facebook.com/Wonderful-World-of-Wasps-215323118526793/


 

Formicidae


Dr. Brigitte Braschler

Section of Conservation Biology, Department of Environmental Sciences
University of Basel, Switzerland.

Email: brigitte.braschler@unibas.ch
Website – https://conservation.unibas.ch/team/braschler/index.php?lang=en

 


Nokuthula Nhleko

Iziko South African Museum, Cape Town, South Africa

Email: nmbanyana@iziko.org.za

Website: https://www.iziko.org.za/static/page/the-phylogeography-of-the-southern-african-ant-genus-ocymyrmex-hymenoptera

 


Dr. Tom Bishop

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Email: thomasrhys.bishop@gmail.com

Website: http://www.up.ac.za/en/zoology-entomology/article/2413670/dr-tom-rhys-bishop

 


Dr. Pia Addison

University of Stellenbosch, South Africa

Email: pia@sun.ac.za

Website: http://www.sun.ac.za/english/faculty/agri/conservation-ecology/ipm

 


 

Scarabaeidae


Dr. Adrian Davis

Scarab Research Group, Department of Zoology and Entomology
University of Pretoria, South Africa.

Email: adavis@zoology.up.ac.za

Website – http://dungbeetlesforafrica.wixsite.com/scarabresearchgroup/our-research-group

 


 

Entomology


Prof. Schalk vdM. Louw

Soil Coleoptera; Soil Ecology in Agriculture

Department of Zoology & Entomology
University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa,

Email:  louwS@ufs.ac.za or louwsvdm@gmail.com

Website – http://www.ufs.ac.za/natagri/departments-and-divisions/zoology-and-entomology-home/general/staff?pid=A%2bj2%2fWScvFI%3d

 


 

Vertebrates

 


Herpetology


Dr. John Measey

Centre for Invasion Biology, Department of Botany and Zoology
Stellenbosch University, South Africa.

Email:  john@measey.com

Website –  john.measey.com